View Navigation View Search

Entries Now Open for 2019 Global Energy Management Awards

The prestigious Energy Management Leadership Awards program for 2019 is now accepting entries.

Any organization with an ISO 50001-certified energy management system is invited to enter this global competition, now in its fourth year. Sponsored by the Energy Management Working Group (EMWG) of the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM), these annual awards highlight leadership and achievement in using energy management systems to accelerate progress toward organizational, national, and global climate goals. 

"Energy efficiency is the cheapest energy resource at our disposal and one that saves businesses, and in turn, consumers, money,” said Christian Zinglersen, Head of the Clean Energy Ministerial Secretariat.

“Energy management standards play a crucial role in ensuring energy usage is maximized in the most efficient way. Implementing the ISO 50001 standard provides a robust and measurable for organisations to boost industrial productivity and reduce carbon emissions.”    

All industrial, commercial, and public-sector organizations or facilities are eligible to enter if they hold a current ISO 50001 certificate from an accredited third-party certification body.

To enter the competition, each organization must submit a structured case study describing its energy management experience and the resulting benefits. These case studies enable companies at all stages of experience with ISO 50001 to tell their unique stories and share tips or best practices. All submissions will be evaluated by an independent panel of international experts.

Top entries will receive the prestigious CEM 2019 Award of Excellence for Energy Management. These winning organizations will be recognized in May 2019 during the tenth Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM10) meeting to be held in Vancouver, Canada. 

Beyond the Award of Excellence, each organization that submits a qualifying entry will receive an Energy Management Insight Award for contributing to global knowledge-sharing on the benefits of energy management systems.

Top-ranked submissions from each country will also be communicated to the appropriate country governments, which may present national energy management awards of their own. 

Interested parties are encouraged to visit the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards website at to learn more about the award rules, entry format, scoring, and recognition. 

The submission deadline is 14 February 2019. 

Source: Clean Energy Ministerial

To Home